SPEATBC’s 25th Year Silver Jubilee Celebrations

The Society of Punjabi Engineers and Technologists of British Columbia (SPEATBC), a non-profit organization, held its 25th Year Anniversary Silver Jubilee fundraising event.

The Society of Punjabi Engineers and Technologists of British Columbia (SPEATBC), a non-profit organization, held its 25th Year Anniversary Silver Jubilee fundraising event – The Engineer’s Gala at the Aria Banquet Hall in Surrey on Saturday, 1st February 2020. Well over 600 guests including business leaders, dignitaries and regulatory bodies like ASTTBC and Engineers & Geoscientists British Columbia (EGBC), attended the event.

SPEATBC has been fortunate to receive this year’s Title sponsorship from YAAT, and a Diamond sponsorship from bloo Recruitment. Sponsorships from various other companies were generously collected with a total fundraising amount of more than $40,000 that will help run various events throughout the year.

The event was emceed by Manroop Kaur Uppal and SPEATBC’s first woman past President Jessie Hundal. They kept the audience engaged and entertained in both English and Punjabi throughout the evening.

A short video of SPEATBC’s 25 years journey was played during the event. Letter of recognition received from Prime Minister of Canada was also displayed during the event.

Various entertainment items were showcased including our popular by demand – Kahoot, a very interactive game, organized by Jimmy Hansra, Dance with Filme led by Erica Virk, Bhangra by Shan-E-Punjab, Piano by Daksh group, songs by Nishant Sharma and other well-known singers from the community. A surprise dance performance by SPEATBC’s Past Presidents and Executives video clip was showcased that received a standing ovation. Many door prizes were drawn out throughout the evening.

Mukesh Sharma, President of SPEATBC, talked about various outreach activities, job fair  and networking events hold in 2019. SPEATBC took an initiative to support climate action and sustainability and planted more than 100 trees in Surrey. SPEATBC also organized an event “SPEAT TALK” on December 3rd and received overwhelming response from the professional community.

Our Keynote speaker – Lianna Mah, President EGBC, gave an inspirational speech, highlighting the importance of diversity and her journey.

Kudos to the current Executive team, led by the President – Mr. Mukesh Sharma for collaborating together and putting up a spectacular show recognizing our youth leadership by awarding scholarships to the deserving candidates. Mr. Sharma emphasized the SPEATBC’s top goals as diversity & inclusion, women empowerment, mentoring and STEM initiatives in the community.

Scholarship winners were announced by SPEATBC’s Platinum Sponsors – five deserving candidates received $1000 each in the following categories:

  1. Entrance Scholarship – Gordon Singh Gill
  2. Post-Secondary – Anuradha Ramachandran
  3. New Immigrant – Satinderpal Singh Sodhi
  4. International – Anupam Saha
  5. Women in Engineering – Manisha Deol

The New Executive team is to be nominated at the upcoming Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday, 23rd February 2020. For more details, check out SPEATBC’s website. Nominations forms can also be requested by sending an email to speatbc@gmail.com

By Jessie Hundal

Photo credits: AB Photocraft